Washington International Horse Show’s President’s Cup Grand Prix Heads to Tryon International Equestrian Center

Washington International Horse Show’s President’s Cup Grand Prix Heads to Tryon International Equestrian Center

The $214,000 President’s Cup Grand Prix CSI4* presented by MARS Equestrian™ will be held at Tryon International Equestrian Center (TIEC) during the 2020 Washington International Horse Show (WIHS) on Saturday, October 24, 2020, at 2 p.m. ET. One of the most historic and popular grand prix events in North America, this year’s WIHS President’s Cup Grand Prix offers record setting prize money and welcomes show jumping legends along with rising talent to its roster thanks to cooperation between WIHS, MARS Equestrian™, and TIEC.

“The organizations involved in making the President’s Cup Grand Prix a reality this year worked tirelessly to seek out a venue that would not only offer the prestigious level of competition that WIHS is known for, but also to guarantee a safe competition environment,” said Victoria Lowell, President of WIHS. “We anticipate the same quality of competition that has become synonymous with WIHS in the past. WIHS is a cherished event on the North American show jumping scene, and the President’s Cup Grand Prix is its pinnacle. We look forward to seeing a 2020 name added to the President’s Cup Trophy this year!”

Thanks to unwavering support from WIHS title sponsor MARS Equestrian™, the President’s Cup Grand Prix is poised to offer electric competition while keeping the storied event thriving in a difficult year.

“MARS Equestrian™ is delighted to be a part of the Washington International Horse Show again this year, and even more excited to extend our presenting sponsorship to the President’s Cup,” said William Clements, Vice President of MARS Sponsorships. “We are proud to support this historic event and wish all of the competitors the best of luck as they wrap up a challenging 2020 show season.”

With the largest purse ever offered in the WIHS grand prix, 50 riders keen for a space on the legendary WIHS President’s Cup Trophy will compete in the 2020 class. Now recognized as a 4* by the Fédération Equestre Internationale (FEI), the President’s Cup Grand Prix Trophy was commissioned by First Lady Jacqueline Kennedy from Tiffany & Co., in 1961. It is the only trophy known to bear the Presidential Seal. Kennedy personally presented the trophy to Carlos Damm, Jr., the President’s Cup Grand Prix winner that year, while she served as the show’s Honorary Chairman.

Other historic winners of the President’s Cup Grand Prix during its 60 years include WIHS Hall of Fame members Frank Chapot, Joe Fargis, Kathy Kusner, Robert Ridland, and three-time winner Rodney Jenkins. U.S. Olympians Norman Dello Joio and Peter Leone have also added their names to the trophy twice. Last year the event was won for the first time by Laura Kraut (USA) and Fleurette, owned by St. Bride’s Farm.