Reynolds and Lütkemeier victorious in Dortmund

Reynolds and Lütkemeier victorious in Dortmund
The Signal Iduna Cup in Dortmund, Germany, offers a broad programme for showjumpers, vaulters and dressage riders. After the Grand Prix Freestyle on Saturday evening, the Grand Prix Special was today's highlight. While yesterdays freestyle was won by Irish Judy Reynolds, todays Special hosted an all-german podium.

Entering the Westfalenhallen-arena as last rider, Fabienne Lütkemeier convinced the judges with a smooth round. Competing the 10-years-old Fabregaz (by Florestano) Lütkemeier couldn't hide a big smile while riding her test and landed a well-deserved victory with a score of 76.118%. It was the first big win for her and the DSP-bred gelding, who often stays in the shadows of Lütkemeiers number one horse D'Agostino. Finishing second, Jessica von Bredow-Werndl and the 13-years-old KWPN-mare Zaire E was happy with one of her last shows this season. Despite some small irritations in the flying changes series, the combination rode to a score of 72.647%. Charlott-Maria Schürmann and Burlingting FRH (by Breitling) completed the German podium with 71.863%.

Anabel Balkenhol and Dablino FRH (by De Niro) followed on 4th place (71.412%) and Dutch Marjan van der Jagd riding her 19-years-old partner Radetzky (by Houston) wrapped up the Top 5. Her score was 68.275%.

The previous day ended in an Irish victory by Judy Reynolds. In the Grand Prix Freestyle Reynolds and her 15-years-old gelding Vancouver K (by Jazz) accumulated a score of 76.700%. Hendrik Lochthowe, showing a very ambitious freestyle with difficult transitions was awarded 73.575%. Aboard Meggle's Boston (by Johnson) Lochthowe secured 2nd place ahead of Beatrice Buchwald and Daily Pleasure (by De Niro), ending with a final score of 72.250%. The Top 5 were completed by the Portuguese Boaventura Freire riding Sai Baba Plus (by Sir Donnerhall) and Joao Victor Marcari Oliva from Brasil, showing the 15-years old Xama Dos Pinhais. Their scores were 70.675% and 68.775%, respectively.

Click here for the results of the Grand Prix Special.

Click here for results of the freestyle.