Irish eventing Junior and YR Squads Announced

Irish eventing Junior and YR Squads Announced
TPhe GAIN Irish Young Rider (Under 21) and Junior (Under 18) squads for the upcoming FEI European Eventing Championships, which take place at Millstreet in Co Cork from 20-23 July 2017.

The first of two days of Dressage will begin on Thursday 20 July and this will be followed by Cross Country on Saturday, before the medals are decided after the final Show Jumping phase on Sunday 23 July.

Irish Eventing Young Rider Team Manager Sally Corscadden said:

"Team Ireland Young Rider management are pleased to announce 12 combinations are qualified for the Young Rider European Championships in Millstreet. There are 12 places available for the home nation (a team of 4 and 8 individuals). The team of 4 will be selected after the first veterinary inspection in Millstreet. We are in the strong position of having some very experienced riders, such as Junior European Team Gold medallists Cathal Daniels, Susie Berry and Nessa Briody to call upon and we all feel it would be the ultimate prize to win a championship medal on home soil."

Irish Junior Eventing team manager Debbie Byrne added:

"I am very excited to be announcing my squad of 12 riders and reserves. We have a depth of experience at championship level, having inherited pony riders and three riders remaining from last year's Junior Europeans. We anticipate Millstreet will be a challenging track, however our training has been going very well throughout the season. I would like to take this opportunity to thank my riders, parents and owners, who have truly shown such commitment to the Junior High Performance Programme, and also to our very valued sponsors. We promise to do our very best to achieve medal success."

GAIN Irish Young Rider Eventing Squad

  • Susie Berry with Morswood (ISH)/ Carsonstown Athena (ISH)

  • Nessa Briody with Tomboy

  • Daragh Byrne with Peruising (ISH) (TIH)

  • Alice Copithorne with Fort Arthur Going For Gold

  • Cathal Daniels  with Sammy Davis Junior (ISH)

  • Tessa Harley with Catsky (ISH) (TIH)

  • Adam Haugh with Master Gold Touch (ISH)

  • Robbie Kearns with Garrybritt Bonny (ISH)/ Green Master (ISH) (TIH)

  • Shannon Nelson with Commanchero

  • Gavin Smiddy with Carraigh Rua (ISH)

  • Casey Webb with Beltrim Full Moon (ISH)

  • Patrick Whelan with Footfall (ISH)

GAIN Irish Junior Eventing Squad

  • Correna Bowe with LCC Cooley (ISH)

  • Luke Coen with Stroke of Genius (ISH)

  • Cillian Creedon with Spirit in the Sky (ISH)

  • Anna Kelly with Something Special

  • Robyn McCluskey with Rum Jumbie (ISH)

  • Alex Power with Lakantus / Millridge Cara (ISH) (TIH)

  • Izzy Riley with Ballycarron Lad

  • Katie Riley with Versace Biscuit (ISH) (TIH)

  • Maresa Ronan with Super Jumbo

  • Stephanie Stammschroer with Master Swatch (ISH) / Tullabeg Horizon

  • Jim Tyrrell with Rock Gift (ISH)

  • Sofie Walshe with Kinsau

1st Reserve    Ben Rowlatt McCormick with Mon Ami Alme
2nd Reserve    Lucy Hancock with Skyhills Cavalier (ISH)
3rd Reserve    Becky Coonan with Jantar
4th Reserve    Patrick Mackie with Carneyhaugh Conquistador (ISH)